Journey of a Leaf

Photo journal/calligraphy

Making a folding screen-Byoubu 9.May.2012

Filed under: calligraphy — madamejuju @ 13:56
Tags:

I was asked to write something for a Byoubu (folding screen). The guy came with materials being cut in the size and he left. He only asked me some words appropriate for sleeping. So I´d chosen three words, “和(wa)” as in harmony and peace, “夢(yume)” as in dream and “静(shizukesa)” as in quietness. Only problem was the material, it was canvas and the calligraphy ink isn´t oil based…

Anyway, I managed this time. But it´s recommendable that you chose other material rather than canvas in case you want one.

wa

“和(wa)”

Harmony/Peace

yume

“夢(yume)”

Dream

suzuka

“静(Sei/Shizukesa)”

Quietness

making process

Making process

The guy phoned me and told that he´d mounted the folding screen. I´m waiting for the photo.

 

4 Responses to “Making a folding screen-Byoubu”

  1. Ed Symmes Says:

    I’m very interested in making byoubu. There are so many interesting skills involved. Building the frame work. Creating the hinged mechanism that allows them to double fold. Preparing and mounting he backgrounds. Correctly mounting the images. And where does one not living in Japan get the proper supplies? I look forward to seeing the completed project. I hope the customer documents it all.

    • madamejuju Says:

      Making a traditional Japanese byoubu may be a little complicated but if you think about making a folding screen, perhaps not so much. I think my client has made a frame with iron as he´s an iron worker, he´s made a frame by himself. I like to see the completed work, too. I´ve asked him to take a photo, will see.

  2. Leah C Says:

    Great ji! Sounds like a very interesting project. See Linked In for my canvas prepping comment.


Leave a comment